The Lone Wolf Adventure Game – What’s in the Box?

In a couple of weeks, The Lone Wolf Adventure Game will be available in game stores! But what do you get for $30? The short answer: a whole load of stuff!

For a slightly longer answer, click the link below or watch this video:

Read More.

The first thing you see when you open the box is the Read This First guide. This gatefolded guide opens up to explain what The Lone Wolf Adventure Game is all about, guides you through the contents of the box and then, on the reverse, explains the rules in a nutshell. Take a look for yourself – you can download the PDF version of the guide here.


Next up are six, ready-made Kai Lords for you to play in the game. These are printed as gatefolded sheets, so you can read a little about each of the characters before opening the gatefold up to see the Action Charts for the characters along with an explanation of what it all means. On the reverse are more complex versions of each of the characters, for use by more experienced players.  These have been reformatted for easy reading in the PDF edition.

LWAG 3 books

The Lone Wolf Adventure Game itself comprises three books: The Book of Kai Legends, The Book of Kai Training and The Book of Kai Wisdom. You can read about the books in more detail here.

The Book of Kai Legends is where your adventure truly begins. This book contains two complete adventures, each designed to teach you and your players the rules as you play through them. There’s no need to prepare anything in advance either – just gather your players, pass round the character sheets and start reading the first adventure. The adventures are structured to introduce new rules as you play through them, and all the information is presented in a clear, easy to follow format that uses icons to prompt the Narrator to do or say something.

The Book of Kai Training is a great guide for a new player, describing what an adventure game is, explaining the basic rules of the game and introducing them to the world of Magnamund. This book also contains all the rules you’ll need to make your own characters too.

The Book of Kai Wisdom is a good book for the Narrator to read after his first adventure, as it contains all of the rules of the game in one place, complete with different options you can add in when you’re ready, plenty of helpful examples, hints and tips. It also contains an expanded guide to the world of Magnamund, as well as a bestiary and more besides.

In each of the books, at the bottom of almost every page, you’ll also find a box out devoted to helping new gamers out, containing advice on what to do in the game, offering up handy tips for both the players and the Narrators, explaining the rules in more detail or providing additional examples. We want this game to be as accessible and easy to learn as possible, and have gone out of our way at every turn to help new gamers.


But that’s not all that’s included in the boxed set: there’s a random number chart printed in the box lid, a sheet of card tokens giving you all the counters you’ll need in play, blank character sheets and a variety of handouts ranging from reference charts to maps.


You can order the physical edition from our webstore, or buy the PDF version here. It will be available in all good gaming stores at the end of September.



Order the print + PDF edition
Buy the PDF version
Find out more about The Lone Wolf Adventure Game
See what's in the box
Read more about the System and the Setting
Download the Read this First Guide
Free Sampler PDF at RPGNow

Filed under: Lone Wolf Comments Off
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Trackbacks are disabled.